3. Aliki’s Dinosaurs, Giveaway

132

132

Numbers: 129 – 137

A while ago I started making cards using a lovely old copy of ‘My Visit To The Dinosaurs’ by Aliki. You can find out about the book here, and the Father’s Day cards I made here.

This week I finished making eighteen postcards. They vary in size, but on average they are 14cms x 19cms. Parts of the book have been sewn onto food packaging. Each card is unique and is individually numbered.

Well get me! I am offering nine of these cards, to one person, as a ‘Summer Giveaway’ on my Facebook Page (I will  blog about the other nine later). The cards on offer are pictured in this post.

All in all, I have spent the best part of eight hours trying to figure out how to do a promotion on Facebook. There are lots of boxes to tick, and I don’t know what some of them mean, neither do I understand the help given. I guess it is hard to give help to a person (me) who doesn’t really know what a widget, or an app (really), or tab is. I think I have made my giveaway visible only to people who have liked my page, this may be the wrong thing to do, not sure. If you cannot view it on your mobile, please let me know, in fact, I would appreciate any feedback about difficulties you have with this giveaway. I will apologise now.

The promotion will start today, and end on 31st August 2013. I will select a winner at random on 1st September, 2013. The winner will be notified by email, as it is against Facebook Law to mention the winner on a timeline (or even by a private message). On the promotion form I only ticked the boxes requiring you to give your name and email address. I missed out the boxes requiring you to give more personal details – although, obviously, if you win you will be required to email your address to me. Only one entry is allowed per person.

The package will not fit through your average letterbox.

Hopefully, the giveaway is here.

Good luck to you (and me), and enjoy this lovely weather, long may it last.

Alison x

PS. My posts have been all over the place lately, sometimes three times in one week and then nothing for a month. From now on I am aiming to post every Friday. It may not happen, of course. I will try. I never want the blogging to take over from the making.

129

129

130

130

131

131

133

133

134

134

135

135

136

136

137

137

Postcard Back

Postcard Back

20 thoughts on “3. Aliki’s Dinosaurs, Giveaway

    • Thank you.
      I’ve just noticed your entry, and you are the only one – so you stand an excellent chance of winning. Also, you said on the things you like, that you like sending postcards and like packages arriving in the post – so I hope you win 🙂 Good luck

  1. These are absolutely lovely! I’ve tried to do the promotion – I’m a bit rusty on FB, so may have done it wrong. Anyway, it’s a great thing to do. Agree with you about not letting the blogging take over – trying to wean myself off at the moment.

    • Thanks Richard. I have received your entry. Only five people so far so great odds! Did you find it difficult? I’m a bit worried that people are encountering problems.

      • I only found it difficult to the extent that FB is quite unfamiliar to me. Kept getting distracted by things. If you got the entry, I must have done it OK. Glad the odds are so good!

      • You now have a six to one chance! Thanks Richard, am I to take it that you didn’t get the ‘we have received your entry’ thingy, that I thought I’d set up?

  2. I saw an idea some time ago for fabric postcards and have had them on my To Do list for a while. Fundamentally they would be resemble yours in that they would utilise upcycled cardboard on the reverse of the postcard, but would differ in that they would have stitched fabric on the front (similar to my gift tags and business cards). I would hate to think that you felt I was copying your idea and would truly understand if you preferred me not to proceed with the project. I would mainly be selling them at local markets here in Kent; I do very little online at the moment. Please, don’t hesitate to ask me not to do it; I wouldn’t be offended or upset and have plenty of other ideas to work on.

    Best wishes. Helen Saunders

    Doodlebags upcycled fabrics : original designs

    http://www.doodlebags.net

    Date: Fri, 19 Jul 2013 06:14:19 +0000 To: doodlebags@hotmail.co.uk

    • Not offended.
      I have no right to tell you not to make cards with cereal boxes, I bet there are other people doing too. I am touched that you asked me, please go ahead.
      I just want to say though, so that I you don’t think I am also stealing your idea, that I also make cards from fabric. See my previous blogs about tablecloths, new house etc..
      Looking forward to seeing your results
      Good luck
      Alison

      • I’d not seen those – they’re excellent! I love the way you have incorporated the stains into the charm of the card. Mine will be very different so I hope our work will be seen as complimenting one another as opposed to competing with it. Thank you for your support; as I said, it’s been on my To Do list for some time, and it may well be on there for some time to come before I actually get round to doing something about it! Hx

  3. Pingback: Summer Giveaway | Alison Sye

  4. Pingback: Aliki’s Dinosaurs | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

