2. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards

310

310

Kingsway English, Junior Series Book 1 by J.C. Gagg, with drawings by Drake Brookshaw. Published by Evans Brothers Limited, London 1953. This edition published in 1963.

Numbers: 302 – 312

You may recall that the last time I posted about this book I wasn’t totally certain that I was actually sewing with the book in question. Well, earlier this week I found the title page, so now I know that these illustrations were indeed drawn by the great Percy Drake Brookshaw.

Anyway, I’ve made some more postcards using the same fabrics I used here.

The pink floral fabric, which I’ve never mentioned before, was my daughter’s blouse. It was a gift from a friend, and my daughter wore it for her sixth birthday party. She is now eleven.

Pretty cool to think that these pages are exactly fifty years old. John and Jane feature quite heavily, John getting excited when the postman arrives, and Jane going to the shops with a shilling.

Now that my son has taught me how to cut and paste, I should be able to put them into my shop more easily!

Have a great weekend,

Alison x

302

302

303

303

304

304

305

305

307

307

308

308

309

309

311

311

312

312

306

306

 

4 thoughts on “2. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards

  1. PDB’s illustrations couldn’t have been made at any other time – so many interesting aesthetic decisions that couldn’t be made now without seeming arch. These are lovely, Alison.

  2. Pingback: 3. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards | Alison Sye

  3. Pingback: 3. The Surprise Party by Pat Hutchins | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

