8. Red Shirts, Seven Years

alisonsye5

Those of you who have been with me for a while will know about my red shirts. If you click on the ‘red shirts’ option in the cloud to the right, you can see the other seven posts relating to this subject.

I have been wearing a uniform now for seven years. I have not enjoyed a minute of it.

This job (the wearing-the-uniform job, not the making-the-art job) started off as something I was going to do for a short while, to enable me to be the one who took my children to school and collect them at the end of the day.

I started wearing it the day my youngest child started school. Here she is about to start secondary school, and here I am still wearing it.

This piece came about by accident, as I wanted to make use of last year’s calendar.

And just like that, I have a year of my life sewn onto the shirt. I didn’t think a year would take up such a small space.

It is far from finished.

Have a good weekend,

Alison x

alisonsye3alisonsye4alisonsye6

10 thoughts on “8. Red Shirts, Seven Years

  1. I completely get what you mean… and feel it too. But when you look at your year from someone else’s point of view, I expect the year takes up three times more space. πŸ™‚
    Hugs,
    teagan

  2. Pingback: Progress | Alison Sye

  3. Pingback: 5. June 2014 | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

