9. June 2014

alisonsye23

Ugly   June 28th

I hate this word. I never use it, and cringe when others use do. I could perhaps stomach its use to describe a person’s morals, say, but not for so-called facial imperfections. Danny Kaye is one of my favourite actors, but when I hear him sing The Ugly Duckling song, I get vexed. I mean, the other birds chased the duckling right out of town, just because his feathers were stubby and brown! However, I use it here as a tribute to Eli Wallach, who died a few days ago.

Eli Wallach was born in Brooklyn in 1915, the son of Polish immigrants. I saw him being interviewed at the NFT a few years back. After the interview he introduced a showing of The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (in my top ten favourite films), hence the word, and he sat in the front row and watched the film with us. He was a lovely, gentle man, not ugly at all. Not Tuco at all. He said that Sergio Leone told him he wanted the whole movie to look like a Vermeer painting. How great is that?

Oddly enough, what with Frank also featuring on this napkin, Wallach was the original choice for the Sinatra role in From Here To Eternity. Also, although I don’t really want to mention Godfather 3, Sinatra was offered Wallach’s part, but turned it down.

If you have not been following my napkin work, and have no idea what I am talking about, then read on (if you have been following, then I am about to repeat myself) and I will explain. The idea, at first, was to sew a word onto an old napkin for each day of the month. A word with some relevance for that particular day. However, as usual, I didn’t stick to my own brief. ‘One word’ soon became ‘a few words’, or sometimes a picture. The aim is to end up with a memento of the month. If you look at the cloud to the right, or at the end of the post, and click on the ‘napkin’ heading, you will be able to view notes about the other words.

 

alisonsye24

5 thoughts on “9. June 2014

  1. Pingback: 24. June 2014 | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

