20. June 2014

alisonsye49

I was trying to fill in the gaps on my June napkin with relevant pictures. This seemed to fit the bill, with it being exactly a hundred years since  Gavrilo Princip assassinated Franz Ferdinand. It is a flyer, pulled from the bin, of an exhibition about The Great War at The National Portrait Gallery. I have sewn every face from the leaflet onto the napkin, and I will tell you who they are in a moment.

First, I just want to remind you that my shop will be closing in a few days. I will reopen on 1st September. Most things (not the computer, yet) are now boxed away, ready for the building work to begin. I think it best that I cancel the August Giveaway on my Facebook Page, too. I will be running my operation from my ‘phone, and if you know me you will already be laughing.

My intention is to blog every Tuesday and Friday during August, although it may just be Friday. I want to record the making of my May napkin, which is coming along nicely. I like it better than the June one. Not sure if this is because all of the information was recorded before I started sewing.

By the way, I joined Instagram last week, if any of you are interested. I have no idea how to add the link to that, but it’s just my name if you’re searching. I’m on Pinterest, as well. I generally follow back.

Anyway, back to my June napkin.

Baron Von Richthofen, Field Marshal Von Hindenburg by August Bocher, 1917 (copyright IWM), William Orpen (IWM), Jack Travers Cornwell (IWM), A Grenadier Guardsman by William Orpen, 1917 (IWM)

Baron Von Richthofen: Field Marshal Von Hindenburg by August Bocher, 1917 (copyright, Imperial War Museum): William Orpen (IWM):  Jack Travers Cornwell (IWM): A Grenadier Guardsman by William Orpen, 1917 (IWM)

Field Marshal Haig by William Orpen, 1917 (IWM):  Churchill by William Orpen, 1916 (copyright National Portrait Gallery): Edith Cavell, 1910s (NPG): Soldier with Facial Wounds by Henry Tonks, 1916-18 (copyright The Royal College of Surgeons): Major J.B. McCudden by William Orpen, 1918 (IWM): Gavrilo Princip, 1914 (IWM): Unidentified, 1915 (IWM).

Field Marshal Haig by William Orpen, 1917 (IWM): Churchill by William Orpen, 1916 (copyright, National Portrait Gallery): Edith Cavell, 1910s (NPG): Soldier with Facial Wounds by Henry Tonks, 1916-18 (copyright The Royal College of Surgeons): Major J.B. McCudden by William Orpen, 1918 (IWM): Gavrilo Princip, 1914 (IWM): Unidentified, 1915 (IWM).

A Royal Irish Fusilier, 'Just Come From The Chemical Works, Roeux, 21st May 1917 (IWM): Hermann Struck by Lovis Corinth, 1915 (copyright Stadtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus und Kunstbau, Munich).

A Royal Irish Fusilier, ‘Just Come From The Chemical Works, Roeux, 21st May 1917 (IWM): Hermann Struck by Lovis Corinth, 1915 (copyright Stadtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus und Kunstbau, Munich).

Mata Hari (IWM): Siegfried Sassoon (IWM).

Mata Hari (IWM): Siegfried Sassoon (IWM).

 

Isaac Rosenberg, 1915 (NPG): Unidentified by Ernest Brooks, 1917 (IWM).

Isaac Rosenberg, 1915 (NPG): Unidentified by Ernest Brooks, 1917 (IWM).

AlisonSyev

If you would like to find out about the rest of the napkin, click  ‘June Napkin’ on the cloud to the right of this post (or at the end, if you are viewing on a mobile device).

Have a great week,

Alison x

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “20. June 2014

  1. Pingback: Edith Cavell | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

