Barcelona Patchwork Postcard

601

601

AlisonSye601bAlisonSye601drawing

 

I started making this postcard, from discarded leaflets and the like, whilst on holiday in Barcelona last month.

The little squares are torn, as I didn’t have any decent scissors, and then sewn onto a page from a museum booklet.

The needle and thread were bought from El Corte Ingles.

Back in London, I machine stitched the collage to a piece of grey card taken from the bin at work. Every time I open a box of brochures, I find the most beautiful piece of A4 card positioned on top, to protect the goods. Depending on who opens the box, the card is either saved for me, or put in the bin.

On the back of the postcard, where the message is written, I have sewn a bit of index card and a piece of Filofax divider. Again taken from the bin, this time in the doctors’ waiting room.

I have tried to give all of the leaflets credit in my diagram above, but in some cases a little bit extra is needed:

C and D. We had two lovely meals in Buenas Migas, during one of them I spilled a whole glass of wine over my daughter’s feet. I have cleaned her sandals lots of times, but they are still sticky. Every time I walked by Buenas Migas, I helped myself to a used tray mat from a recently vacated table.

E. This came from a leaflet from MACBA, I am sorry to say I don’t know the artist. Anyone?

J. An empty sugar wrapper from Granja M. Viader, a wonderful old Barcelona milk bar. It was established 140 years ago. The children had their first, and best, churros here.

 

K. This is the front cover of a MACBA leaflet, I used the pages from the same booklet to mount my patchwork.

L. I’m sorry to say that I don’t know where this picture came from. Hopefully I’ll add this at a later date.

All of my work is individually numbered, this is 601.

It can be found in my shop,

Alison x

AlisonSye5

AlisonSye9

AlisonSye10

AlisonSye13

AlisonSye16

IMG_20140811_161518523

 

8 thoughts on “Barcelona Patchwork Postcard

  1. This is by far my favourite of anything I’ve seen you make – it brings back so many memories of three wonderful weeks I spent in Barcelona. Absolutely beautiful piece of work Alison 🙂

Leave a Reply

