9. Napkin Diary For October 2014

AlisonSye20

20th May

I was reading an article in The Guardian by Rosie Dawson, about religion in Brazilian football.

It was about the Neo-Pentecostalists, a religion brought to Brazil from America in the early 20th century. It’s spunky Christianity, with faith healings and exorcisms and stuff.

The movement has been on the rise for some time.

In the early days it’s followers denounced football, calling it ‘The Devil’s Egg’, but now they like it.

The gap in the word devil is for the head of John Cleese.

Enjoy the rest of your week,

Alison x

PS.  I’m afraid that I am going to be bombarding you with napkin posts all week. Feel free to ignore me.

I have  made three napkins. One for May (this one), one for June (exhibited at The Mall Galleries, 14-23rd November, 2014), and one for October.

Even though I haven’t blogged about it much, I have actually finished my May napkin. I finished it towards the end of September. However, as usual, I am way behind with the recording of the piece. My apologies for the catch-up frenzy of posts, but I am extremely keen to start on my November napkin. I can’t start November until May is done and dusted, don’t know why, but I just can’t.

Leave a Reply

