Blog Hopping

Juliet, over at the exquisite The Cloud Pottery asked me to take part in a blog hop, so here I am, blog hopping…

It involves answering the following four questions, and then nominating two other hoppers.

 

1. How Does My Process Work?

I make art, usually sewn collages, from stuff others discard. I find something, like a sock in the road, or a piece of lace in a charity shop. I take it home and put it in a shoe box. Later, it will find its way into my work. ‘Later’ could be the next day, or in thirty years time. I set no timescale, everything is waiting to be used. It doesn’t bother me how long a piece takes to complete. I am not in a rush. I have to be selective about what I keep, because I don’t have  storage space. In an ideal world, I would keep everything.

alisonsye4

2. How Does My Work Differ From Others Of Its Genre?

I am not sure what my genre is, and whatever it is, there is probably someone else doing it too. Nothing in the world is new.

I guess the fact that all of my materials absolutely must be unfit for purpose, is a little different. I don’t cut up books unless they have completely conked out and cannot be read by others, pages missing and the like. As for clothes, I would much rather someone else got some wear out of them, they must be really worn out before I use them in my work. I see beauty in everything. If possible, I try not to buy new materials, and that includes needles and thread.

My blogging is a little different too, in that I don’t record the process, so much as the history of the materials I use. The blogging is my least favourite part, but feel compelled to do it, so that the information is not lost. I feel obliged to record the name of a person who once inscribed their name in a book I have used. It may seem unnecessary, but it will matter to someone. The story of the materials I use, is an important part of my work. This is a little piece I made from some old uniforms, worn by myself and my colleagues.

AlisonSye2

3. What Am I Working On?

I have at least thirty projects on the go. Some, I can’t continue until I find the missing part. At the moment, my work  is small, because I don’t have a studio, and do a lot of work on public transport. When I was a student, and had the luxury of more space, my work was massive. I take what I can.

I have two projects which are near completion. One is a patchwork of leaflets I collected on holiday in Barcelona. This is a small section. When it is finished it will have 81 squares.

AlisonSye4a

The other is a sewn diary for the month of November. Each day, I record something which I consider to be significant. I have made three other diaries this year. You can currently see my June diary exhibited at The Mall Galleries in London. This one is from October.

AlisonSye22

4. Why Do I Do What I Do?

I have no idea. I don’t make any money out of it, so it’s not for that. I am from a very working class background. My dad was a miner and my mam cleaned other people’s houses. There is no getting away from the fact that making art is pure self indulgence, and I constantly struggle with the guilt of that.

 

My nominees are the artist Richard Guest and maker of beautiful things Giova Brusa, both of whom have great blogs with beautiful photography. I have been trying all week to copy their photos here, but alas, it is beyond me!

Have a great weekend,

Alison x

 

15 thoughts on “Blog Hopping

  1. I don’t think it’s self indulgent at all, your works of art are fascinating creations, I was stunned when I received my first purchases. Feel guilt free because of the pleasure and insight you give to others, when reading and viewing your upcycled art 🙂

  2. This post is so enlightening and inspirational. I am fascinated by your work and your tiny stitches, go guilt free (please) and keep doing it always, because it really shines!
    Let’s hope I can come up with something as good as this 🙂 and thank you for the nomination!

  3. I don’t think it’s self indulgent at all either! (Though I do know how you feel, I struggle with those feelings often myself) But your blog here is just so inspiring and interesting, and what you’re making is not only visually really interesting but fascinating in a social/historical context too. And if it pleases you at the same time as others then hooray for that I say! 🙂

  4. Hello I have discovered your work through this blog hop via Richard. I love what you do and it was very interesting to read your thoughts and about your process. You have a new fan in me.

Leave a Reply

