Eco-Friendly Valentine Postcard

 

AlisonSye53

Happy New Year!

Those of you who have been with me from the start, know that my first post was about the wonderful Birds by Brian Wildmith, 1969.

Well, I am finally getting around to listing one of the cards, made from said book (and some cereal boxes), in my shop.

I thought it would make a good Valentine card.

This card is unique, there is no other the same. It is a one-off.

It is not a print, it is made from the actual book, which is 44 years old.

Brian Wildsmith is a hero of mine. He was born in 1930 and grew up in a small mining village in the north of England. Being a miner’s daughter from the north myself, I need no more than this to like him. However, there is a lot more to like, not least his wonderful children’s books.

It is completely upcycled, and very eco-friendly, as everything used in its making was destined for the bin.

I absolutely never cut up healthy books, nor do I clean up any blemishes left by life. Kind friends save food packaging for me, and the books I use have been ‘retired’ from local schools and libraries, after years of loyal service.

It measures 15cms x 19.3cms.

All of my work is numbered, this is 53.

If you have any questions, please give me a shout,

Alison x

PS. I will be having a Valentine giveaway on 14th Jan.

AlisonSye53b

 

8 thoughts on “Eco-Friendly Valentine Postcard

Leave a Reply

