Hyde Park Corner Valentine Card

AlisonSye613c

 

I have been making these little punkish cards for a few years now, but have never been completely satisfied with the end result.

Each time I make a new one I learn something new.

I am finally happy.

They need to be hand sewn, not machine stitched in a fraction of the time and without the bloody finger. You have heard me ramble on before about my failed I-must-learn-to-use-a-thimble attempts. I have been sewing, both by machine and by hand, for as long as I can remember. My mam was a fantastic seamstress, as was my grandmother. The skin on my ‘thimble finger’ is noticeably tougher than my other fingers. Over the years I have evolved my own natural thimble, but it is still inadequate, especially compared to a lump of metal.

Anyway, I digress, back to the card.

It is made from a postcard of Hyde Park Corner, c1970.

To the left, you can see the building most likely to feature in a pub quiz, Number One London.

Marble Arch is there, too. Designed by Nash to stand at the entrance of Buckingham Palace, but now plonked in the middle of a traffic island.

And, thanks to Juliet via Instagram, I know that the tall building is the Hilton, luxury and elegance in the heart of Mayfair! However, if I had read the back of the card properly, I would have known this already.

It is a J Arthur Dixon (18 June 1897 – 19 May 1958) postcard. Dixon, a photographer from Yorkshire, bought a small printing business on the Isle of Wight when he was 29. In 1955 he printed nearly 30 million postcards.

Letters, cut from junk mail and old magazines, are attached to a summer leaflet from The National Portrait Gallery. The painting on the cover is Virginia Woolf by her sister, Vanessa Bell. This will make sense when you see the picture below.

It is in my shop.

Have a great weekend,

Alison x

AlisonSye613b

AlisonSye613f

AlisonSye613i

AlisonSye613e

AlisonSye613g

AlisonSye613h

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hyde Park Corner Valentine Card

  1. Glad to be of help Alison. I’m with you on the hand sewing – it just adds an extra dimension and texture. Particularly love the inside… but you probably know me by now… I love seeing ‘the workings’. X

Leave a Reply

