Mostly Uninvited 1

AlisonSye2

I am sewing faces, from the obscene amount of junk mail that finds its way into my house, onto a big woollen blanket.

First to be stitched, is Charles Darwin.

Taken from ‘Was Life Created?’

Published by Watch Tower Bible and Tract Society of Britain, 2010.

It was thrust into my hand by two women, who told me to give it to my children. They told me about ten times the information in the booklet was on the National Curriculum.

*29.01.2016: Thanks to @arieljkline on Instagram, I am now pretty certain this is a photograph of the NPG portrait by John Collier, 1883.

* 16.02.16. Thanks to the fantastic Jacky Fleming on Woman’s Hour this morning, for pointing out Darwin’s impeccable scientific reasoning with the following quote: ‘If two lists were made of the most eminent men and women in poetry, painting, sculpture, music (inclusive of both composition and performance), history, science, and philosophy, with half-a-dozen names under each subject, the two lists would not bear comparison. We may also infer, from the law of the deviation from averages, so well illustrated by Mr. Galton, in his work on “Hereditary Genius” that . . . the average of mental power in man must be above that of women’ Darwin, 1896.

AlisonSye1

AlisonSye1c

AlisonSye1d

AlisonSye1e

19 thoughts on “Mostly Uninvited 1

  1. Nice to see you Paul, hope you are well.
    Yes, every day new material for me.
    I can’t think of a single occasion when I have looked at a piece of junk mail and actually bought whatever they’re selling.

Leave a Reply

