4. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards

324

324

Kingsway English, Junior Series Book 1 by J.C. Gagg, with drawings by Drake Brookshaw. Published by Evans Brothers Limited, London 1953. This edition published in 1963.

Numbers: 321 – 328

Hullo, Children (see 328)!

If you haven’t been following this project, you can find out more about this fifty years old book here. And if you want to see the cards for one and three, click on the links.

Meanwhile, back to the ‘fours’. I’m still using the coloured card, I found in the bin at work, as a mount for the fabric numbers.

The green gingham was given to me by a friend some years ago, before I had my own children. It used to be her daughter’s school uniform. I made her some birthday bunting with it.

The black and white spot is the torn lining of a bag. In fact, from the very bag I took to Lewisham Hospital when I had my son thirteen years ago. Incidentally, Del , whose shirts are featured on earlier numbers, drove us to said hospital with said bag.

Drake Brookshaw comes up trumps again with some beautiful drawings. 324 is my favourite, with the king and the poor man. Mam and Jane are making cakes on 326, with Dad and John nowhere to be seen. And I often wondered why our dog, Jess, used to turn around about fifty thousand times before she finally lay down for the night, and now I know (327).

If you are interested, you can find them in my shop. On 14th and 15th November, 2015, there will be 30% discount. Use the code GOLD50

Alison x

321

321

323

323

322

322

325

325

326

326

327

327

328

328

3 thoughts on “4. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards

  1. Pingback: 5. Percy Drake Brookshaw, 1963 Birthday Postcards | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

