Eleven ‘New Home’ Postcards

 

783

783

Happy Saturday Everyone.

Here are eleven little ‘New Home’ postcards. Made, as usual, from used food packaging and clothes which have seen better days.

Mostly, I tend to use fabrics which happen to be in front of me, rather than hunting for stuff. So if you recognise anything here, that is because I used it to make my recently sold Picasso piece. Some of the houses are made from those red shirts (will I ever get to the end of the pile?), the doors and windows are made from Del’s shirt and my daughter’s skirt, the yellow roofs are Jade’s dress. You can read more about these clothes here.

Some of the roofs are made from a map, it was a page from a magazine. I have no idea about the magazine or the page. Maybe some of you might recognise it?

The green roof was a Gap shirt, purchased in a charity shop about ten years ago for my son. The pale blue roof was another charity shop purchase, it was a baby dress, worn by my daughter.

There are two new clothes items:

Purple gingham dress. Very special. I bought this in Scope, Lewisham, 2005. My daughter was three at the time, and was with me and a buggy-load of the usual fruit and veg we had just bought at the market. It must’ve been a Friday. It was a beautiful little shift dress that someone had hand-made for a small girl. It was perfect. There was a small red felt-tip mark at the hem, which I did not try to remove. My daughter wore it for years, first as a dress and then as a top over leggings. There are too many happy memories to mention in which this dress was present.

Green blouse with yellow floral print. My mam’s. She likes to wear synthetic clothing, which I don’t normally use in my work. However, she wore this to my sister’s graduation. It was perfect for the little hill on which every house stands.

The map in the background is taken from ‘Ordnance Survey East Sussex Street Atlas’, published by Philips in 1992. Konked-out, obviously.

A couple can be found in my shop.

Have a great weekend,

Alison x

PS. Have you heard about the ‘Just A Card’ campaign? It is to encourage people to buy from Designer Makers & Independent shops/galleries. Even the smallest of purchases will help them stay afloat. If you are on twitter, please give them a ‘like’ and help spread the word, they would really appreciate it. Thank you https://twitter.com/Justacard1

780

780

782

782

781

781

779

779

787

787

785

785

786

786

788

788

789

789

784

784

4 thoughts on “Eleven ‘New Home’ Postcards

Leave a Reply

