Cumberbatch My Arse!

AlisonSye

My posts can be quite monotonous. I do not usually stray beyond the realms of recording my work. Sometimes I prattle on about an exhibition I have seen, not often, though. There are plenty of reviewers around, doing it much better than I could.

However, yesterday, the house-elves and I went to see Aladdin at the Churchill Theatre in Bromley. I am now compelled to talk about it, because it was so brilliant.

We go to a pantomime every year. Panto is an art-form equal to any other kind of theatre. Oh no it isn’t. Well actually, it is. And I really admire actors who treat it this way. Panto is flipping hard work.

As I said, we go to a panto every year, regardless of who is performing. I pay no attention to the names. Last year we saw Sleeping Beauty at the same theatre. The dame really caught my eye, he was mesmerising. It was only when he started playing the piano that I said ‘Who the hell is this? He is brilliant’. Turned out to be the legendary Bobby Crush, boy can he bang out a tune.

Same thing happened this year.

Who the hell is this? She is brilliant. Turned out to be Jess Robinson. What a performance from her. Brilliant singing and impressions.

Who the hell is this? He is brilliant. Turned out to be Charlie Guest as PC Pong. Can I hide my truncheon in your garden Missus?

Who the hell is Wishee Washee? He is brilliant. Turned out to be Mark James, who went at the whole thing with gusto. Despite jumping around on stage for two and a half hours (and despite having to be back on stage, to do the same thing all over again, in two), he was outside the theatre at the end of the show, shaking a bucket for charity. He must’ve really put on a sprint to get there too, as we were amongst the first to leave, on account of Mr. S being potentially locked out of the house.

I knew who Luke Roberts and Jen Pringle were, as I had been briefed by HouseElf2. They are from children’s television, and also gave great performances.

In fact, every single person on stage was fantastic. The dancers, The Orchestra. Everyone.

Now, what I am about to say surprises even me. What with me being a huge Bobby Crush (he was in the panto again this year) fan. Scott Maslen, playing Abanazar-with-a-hint-of-Gyles-Brandreth, stole the show. No disrespect to Bobby, who doesn’t know the meaning of half-measure, but Scott was acting his heart out. He didn’t care that he was in little old Bromley. It was as if he thought he was at the Old Vic, and we’d all paid £200 for our tickets. He was going to give us our money’s worth, if it was the last thing he did. I would like to be a casting director, so I could have him as Hamlet at the National, but I’m not, so I can’t.

My opinion is not influenced by his celebrity. I had no idea who he is, until today. I thought he was Bobby’s sidekick. My sister informed me he is from EastEnders.

I weaned myself off all the soaps about ten years ago, when I thought I was dying.

Scott and Bobby make an appearance on a piece of my work here, and they are most welcome.

*I was not paid to write this. Or given free tickets. Or anything.

PS. This is probably my last post of the year, so a Happy New Year to you all. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, it is always much appreciated xx

22 thoughts on “Cumberbatch My Arse!

      • That was meant to be funny, and as a good friend of mine I know you will laugh. However, to the casual observer it appears rude. So I am writing more of a response.
        I admit, it’s a bit cryptic! Cumberbatch was Hamlet at the National recently, I think. I doubt he would consider panto, because it is beneath him. I hope I am wrong. It is not possible for him to have given a better performance as Hamlet, as Scott Maslen gave as Abanazar-with-a-hint-of-Gyles-Brandreth. Although, it could have been equally as good.
        On saying that, I am looking forward to watching the new Sherlock.

  1. Sounds like a brilliant evening out and a fun panto. We very much miss going to a pantomime every year. Sadly, while they can be found in the Philly area, the ticket price is prohibitive. The wonderful thing about Britain is that you can find a panto for every price range and in every locale and they are always performed with gusto.

    • Yes, we are very lucky here, Laura. Pretty much surrounded by local pantos. I would argue that the small local ones are better than the fancy big ones.
      Hope you are your lovely family have a great 2016 x

      • I know, it’s so ridiculous it’s great. It gets better when they get older, ironically. I love the fact that the audience is a big part of it, too. You really get a feel of what it must have been like in the old music halls. Have a great 2016, Juliet, filled with health, happiness and throwing! x

  2. I know, it’s so ridiculous it’s great. It gets better when they get older, ironically. I love the fact that the audience is a big part of it, too. You really get a feel of what it must have been like in the old music halls. Have a great 2016, Juliet, filled with health, happiness and throwing! x

Leave a Reply

