12. London Faces Patchwork – Sherlock Holmes

AlisonSye12

“London, that great cesspool into which all the loungers and idlers of the Empire are irresistibly drained”. A Study In Scarlet, 1887.

This is the twelfth square of my London Faces Patchwork. It is a patchwork of papers gleaned from the pavements of the city in which I live. There are twenty-five squares making up the whole piece. You can see it here.

Sherlock Holmes, Consulting Detective.

A Study In Scarlet was written two years before my first square, Charlie Chaplin, was born. (Chaplin’s statue seems to have disappeared from Leicester Square, by the way, does anyone know if he is coming back?)

When I was about fifteen, I became a bit obsessed with those Conan Doyle stories, reading each one quite a few times. I passed this obsession on to my sister. We fancy ourselves as experts. We both like to think we know more than the other. It can get a bit nasty. Possibly the worst argument we have ever had  (we have had plenty) was started by Sherlock.

Just to keep with the Fleet Street connection of the previous post, the Cheshire Cheese pub was a favourite haunt of Conan Doyle.  The alleyways in that area are said to be the inspiration for The Adventure Of The Red-Headed League.

The square was cut from a leaflet for an exhibition at The Museum of London. Sherlock Holmes, The Man Who Never Lived And Will Never Die. It was a great exhibition, the entrance was disguised as a bookcase. There is no mention of the designer.

The patchwork is in my shop.

AlisonSye12b

7 thoughts on “12. London Faces Patchwork – Sherlock Holmes

  1. My PhD subject, the British film director Maurice Elvey, made a number of Sherlock Holmes films starring Eille Norwood. Nice to see Holmes honoured in your blanket – and it was a great exhibition to boot!

    • Yes, I loved this exhibition. Wouldn’t it be funny if we had been there at the same time? We will never know. Thank so much for this information, as I had not heard of the names you mention – so really looking forward to searching out these films. Do you like the modern adaptation?

  2. I too became obsessed with Sherlock Holmes in my early teens and I regularly re-read all the stories. I’m trying to get my almost 13 year old to read them. I managed to get him into Poe so I’m hoping Conan Doyle will follow.

  3. Pingback: 13. London Faces Patchwork – Elizabeth 1 | Alison Sye

  4. Pingback: 23. London Faces Patchwork – Duke Of Wellington | Alison Sye

  5. Pingback: London Faces Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

