Sunflower Drawings

791

791

I recently spent a few hours drawing in the National Gallery, London.

This is one of two studies of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers. It is not a print, it is hand drawn with a fineliner.

I used an old photo album, which I bought in a charity shop, as a sketchbook. I often do this, as the card is usually of very good quality, and those little leaves of greaseproof-type paper between each page keep my drawings clean. There are loads of unused photograph albums in charity shops. People are given them as gifts and then discard them. I like to be eco-friendly and put them to good use.

The green envelope once belonged to a pack of Christmas cards given to me by a friend. She had bought them and not used them. Again, I hate to see them go to waste.

It is now in my shop.

AlisonSye

792

792

12 thoughts on “Sunflower Drawings

  1. These are beautiful Alison! They make special cards. Lucky you to sit in front of that painting and sketch away. I once worked in the curator’s library of an art museum (for a very short time…I told them I couldn’t type but they must have thought I was being humble and so hired me until they realized I was telling the truth…hahaha). Van Gogh’s paintings exhibited there for a few weeks while I was employed. I have no words! A highly visceral experience. Thanks for reminding me of this! Now I am green with envy!!!

    • What a lovely comment, thank you. I didn’t have the luxury of sitting, I was standing. Also, it is probably the most popular painting in the gallery so it was quite rushed. Next time I will stand at a less busy painting. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  2. Just ordered this as a birthday card for my Mum! Hope it will inspire her to start sketching again. Love your idea of using photo albums as sketchbooks. H x

  3. Reblogged this on vintagethrifter51.com and commented:
    I love Van Gogh!! As you see on my blog post about thrifted art, I have two walls dedicated to thrifted and gifted and self-bought prints of his work. Love your drawing. Cheers, Michele

Leave a Reply

