1. London Pairs Patchwork – Celia Johnson

AlisonSye1

“Do you know, I believe we should all behave quite differently if we lived in a warm, sunny climate all the time.” Laura Jesson.

Celia Johnson (born in Richmond, 1908) as Laura Jesson in the film Brief Encounter, 1945. Based on a play by Noel Coward (1936) and directed by David Lean. Cinematographer, Robert Krasker.

Synopsis: Suburban housewife, Laura, meets Doctor Alec whilst on a shopping trip. A romance begins. And ends. Rachmaninoff plays. There is a great railway cafe, which is actually a studio. Noel Coward makes the station announcements.

Celia Johnson went to school in Hammersmith and, in 1926, attended RADA. Iain Fleming was her brother-in-law.

This is the first square of my London Pairs Patchwork. It is a patchwork of papers gleaned from the pavements of the city in which I live. There are sixteen squares making up the whole piece. You can see it here.

The square was cut from ‘London Philharmonic Orchestra 2015/16 Concert Season’. Southbank Centre.

The patchwork is now in my shop.

AlisonSye1d

AlisonSye1c

4 thoughts on “1. London Pairs Patchwork – Celia Johnson

  1. I saw this movie. Sad, I thought, though I have to say I viewed the characters in some puzzlement because the whole way they went about things would never occur to me. But, this is not a movie review. I too think we would live differently in a warmer climate. But not necessarily better? Well, I’ve covered film and philosophy this morning and that is enough. Thanks for the thoughts you elicited !

    • Yes, it is a sad film, but there is something unreal about it. I was upset when I found out that railway cafe was a set. It looks lovely. I would love to sit in there and wait for my train

  2. Pingback: 4. London Pairs Patchwork – Trevor Howard | Alison Sye

  3. Pingback: London Pairs Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

