15. London Pairs Patchwork – Fernanda Oliveira and Alejandro Virelles

AlisonSye15

‘O’er the glad waters of the dark blue sea, Our thoughts are boundless, and our souls as free.’ Byron.

This is the fifteenth square of my London Pairs Patchwork. It is a patchwork of papers gleaned from the pavements (mostly) of the city in which I live. There are sixteen squares making up the whole piece. You can see it here.

The square is a scene from Le Corsaire, and was cut from a leaflet for the English National Ballet. The dancers are Fernanda Oliveira and Alejandro Virelles, and the photograph was taken by Perry Curties.

Conrad, the dashing pirate, braves the high seas to rescue Medora, the beautiful harem girl who has been sold as a slave.

Based on The Corsair by Byron, which sold ten thousand copies on its first day, 1814.

All of my work is numbered. This piece is 795.

The patchwork is now in my shop.

AlisonSye15c

4 thoughts on “15. London Pairs Patchwork – Fernanda Oliveira and Alejandro Virelles

  1. I like Conrad and Medora and their story. Bet it would be fun to see this ballet.

    10,000 copies on the first day. Wow.

    I have learned 2 things today that are interesting due to you! Thank you!

      • I’ve been a handful of times. I remember the first time, 30+ years ago, when a customer of mine at the bank I worked at gave me tickets to the Pennsylvania Ballet doing a show at an outdoor stage. I was thrilled because previously I’d only been to this place as a free lawn-sitter for concerts and could barely see anything. I took my roommate and we had GREAT seats in about the third row. You could see every sparkle on the costumes. Just magic.

  2. Pingback: London Pairs Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

