3. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Silverstone

AlisonSye3

“This is a book for every boy – and many fathers too!”

The book in question is, The Story Of The Motor Car by David Carey. Illustrated by the wonderful Robert Ayton (1915 – 1985), and published by Ladybird in 1962, making this little square 54 years old. I have not printed a copy, I have used the actual book.

Robert Ayton started working for Ladybird in 1960, and illustrated fifty titles in total. We had a number of his books in our house when I was a child, my favourite being Tricks and Magic.

According to his nephew, Rupert (who features in some of his illustrations), his ashes were spread over a rose bed, next to a park bench with a fabulous view.

This is the third square of a patchwork of so-called men’s stuff. It is made from discarded books, magazines, postcards and junk mail. There are sixteen squares in total. You can see the whole piece here.

The illustration is titled, Massed Start At Silverstone.

When I searched the internet for information on women in this field, I mostly found lists of ‘hot lady racing drivers’. Too upset to continue my search.

The book was given to me by a school librarian. She would prefer to remain anonymous.

All of my work is individually numbered, this piece is 799. It can be found in my shop.

AlisonSye3d (2)

AlisonSye3b

AlisonSye799c

10 thoughts on “3. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Silverstone

  1. I have been thinking about how times have changed (talking to my son about working in a bank in the 1980’s is what did it) and this fit right in. I remember being indignant when I read books that targeted one sex or the other like this one does. Not that I was interested in racing cars, but I didn’t like to feel I was shut out.

  2. Pingback: Men’s Stuff Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

