5. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Virile John Wayne

AlisonSye5

“The guy you see on the screen isn’t really me. I’m Duke Morrison, and I never was and never will be a film personality like John Wayne. I know him well. I’m one of his closest students. I have to be. I make a living out of him.”

When John Wayne was a boy the family dog was named Big Duke. Big Duke liked chasing fire-engines. The firemen gave Wayne the nickname Little Duke, which later became Duke.

When he won best actor for True Grit, he knocked on fellow nominee Richard Burton’s door and tried to give him the Oscar, saying he should’ve won.

He made 162 feature films.

Here he is being manly.

This is the fifth square of a patchwork of so-called men’s stuff. It is made from discarded books, magazines, postcards and junk mail. There are sixteen squares in total. You can see the whole piece here.

The photo was taken on the set of The Wings of Eagles in 1956. The photographer isn’t credited. I took it from a flood damaged book called Hollywood Album. Published in 1958 by Sampson Low, Marston and Co. Ltd. Edited by Ivy Crane Wilson. I have not printed a copy. This is the page from the actual book, making the square 67 years old.

All of my work is individually numbered, this piece is 799. It can be found in my shop.

AlisonSye5d

AlisonSye799c

3 thoughts on “5. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Virile John Wayne

  1. Pingback: Men’s Stuff Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

