8. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Fry-Up

AlisonSye8

“The first thing I noticed was that, apart from the class leader, Paul (short, cheery and with a weight problem not totally in the past), I was the only man in a room of about 30 women”. Christopher Middleton, talking about a Weightwatchers’ meeting.

This square was cut from WeightWatchers – A Way Of Life by Bernice Weston. Published by Hamlyn in 1975, making this little square 41 years old. The photograph is by John Lee, who I have been trying to contact (without success) for about three weeks.

I cut this old book a while back as part of a Napkin Diary, and won’t be happy until I have utilised every page.

This is the eighth square of a patchwork of so-called men’s stuff. It is made from discarded books, magazines, postcards and junk mail. There are sixteen squares in total. You can see the whole piece here.

All of my work is individually numbered, this piece is 799. It can be found in my shop.

AlisonSye8a

AlisonSye799c

9 thoughts on “8. Men’s Stuff Patchwork – Fry-Up

  1. The sole man in a roomful of women can be applied to gym classes I go to, too…I find it amusing. Men don’t like to expose their weaknesses while women seek strength in numbers, I think.

    Love this breakfast and I’d like some right now!

  2. Considering I’ve spent most of my working life being the only women in a room full of men, I’d like to suggest that the women might have been a bit more open and friendly than the welcome I’m used to.

  3. Pingback: Men’s Stuff Patchwork | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

