Shop Sale

 

alisonsye

I got my first sewing machine for my twelfth birthday. Of course, I had been sewing for quite a while before this, without machinery. By the time I was fifteen I was earning money making clothes. By the time I was eighteen I was a qualified pattern-cutter.

It helped that my mother and grandmother were seamstresses.

For the past thirty-eight years, barely a day has gone by when I haven’t used a sewing machine.

However, my sewing is increasingly being done by hand. My hands. I love my sewing machine, but I am using it less these days.

Sewing machines are all about getting something done quickly. I am not about the speed anymore. I much prefer the look of my work when sewn by hand. It may take longer, much longer, but the end result is far superior.

Anyway, this is a long way of saying that I am adding some of my old machine-sewn cards to the SALE section of my shop. My new cards will be hand sewn, at least until my fingers tell me otherwise.

Leave a Reply

