3. Patchwork Of Mothers – Madonna And Child

Square three of my Mothers Patchwork is Madonna and Child.

Part of The Hours Of Isabella Stuart, c1431.

It is taken from a leaflet for an exhibition (Colour: The Art And Science Of Illuminated Manuscripts, July-Dec 2016) at the Fitzwilliam Museum.

This brings me to something I had no intention of talking about. For some reason, I couldn’t separate Paper Madonna from Paper Jesus. It’s not a religious thing, because I consider myself to be an atheist (not completely true, some things are deep rooted), it’s a mother thing. I feel the same way about regular paper mothers and paper children as I do about devine ones.

You can see the whole piece, here, or follow my progress on Instagram.

One thought on “3. Patchwork Of Mothers – Madonna And Child

  1. Pingback: Patchwork Of Mothers | Alison Sye

Leave a Reply

